My Funny Run

Among other things, part of what I want to use this blog for is to document my running progress, and to give myself some place to be accountable for that progress (or any lack thereof).
Running has always been a bit of a sore spot with me.  While I’ve never been an overly athletic person in the ‘played-all-the-sports-in-high-school’ sort of way (I was a band geek, full out), I’ve always been in fairly good shape (more on that in a later post.)  But I have never liked running.  Or rather, I’ve never liked running when other people can see me.

I always thought it had something to do with my physique – until recently I was pretty stick shaped, and I’ve always been pretty tall.  I just assumed I was kind of gangly, and that physically translated into not knowing what to do with my limbs when I ran.  My legs kind of kick out to the side; I’m not sure how to describe it really.
It’s kind of like this I guess.

Anyways, kids made fun of me for it, as kids do, and that really got to me.  So much so that I stopped running.  And not just elementary school kids.  This went on all the way through high school, and even throughout the better part of my university days.  When I decided last year to pick up running again, I did so with the caveat that I would only do it in the dark.  This means running either late at night (which sometimes feels dangerous), or super early in the morning.  Because if no one can see me, no one can make fun of me.

But the other day in the park, I saw this girl running the same way I do.  Head up, eyes forward, legs swinging out all funny.  And with the exception of myself, no one was looking at her.  Seriously, no one.
I pointed this out at knit night, and was told that probably, no one gives a crap how I run either.  They see me running, and think….well they probably think nothing.  It was also pointed out that kids (and assclownish university students) will make fun of ANYONE for ANYTHING.  Which I know, obviously.  But more in an ‘of course everyone knows that’ kind of way, and less in an ‘I’ll apply that to my life’ kind of way.

So why am I writing about my funny run?
Angela at Oh She Glows posted a challenge for August: to tackle one thing each day that scares you.  For me, that means working my way up to running in the daylight.  Where other people can see me.  It’s something I have to get over, because I signed up for a 5K in October, and those are typically run in the daylight.

*On the phone the other night, my Nana asked me what an internet “blob” is.  I’ll probably call it a blob from here on out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

